Send Print
Museum of Covadonga
Cangas de Onís (Eastern Asturias)
Contact Address
Edificio de la Escolanía. 33589, Covadonga (Cangas de Onís)
Phone
985 846 096
Website
  • Every day of the week: 10:30am-2:00pm and 4:00pm-7:30pm


    Individual: €2.50
    Children: €1
    Groups (25+): €1.50

Despite constant ravages and fires, the Museum of Covadonga still conserves valuable works.

In this museum, visitors can see and learn about the history of this historic sanctuary from the legendary battle that gave rise to the Reconquista (retaking of Spain from the Moors), initiated by Don Pelayo (Founder of the Monarchy), as well as the various changes it has undergone throughout its history.

The crown of the Virgin of Covadonga and that of the Christ Child created by the jeweller from Oviedo Félix Granda Buylla in 1918, the year of the canonical coronation of the Virgin, are of great value. They are made of platinum, gold, diamonds, rubies, sapphires, Rose de France amethysts, brilliants and pearls. These crowns are only be used on Covadonga Day, 8th September.

The 16th-century ivory Christ is Mannerist in style. It belonged to St Francis of Paola, and later King Felipe II, who donated it to the sanctuary of Covadonga.

The Museum of Covadonga also houses reproductions of the drawings by architect Ventura Rodríguez for the project of the Basilica. An impressive painting of King Pelayo by Madrazo is also on display. Besides numerous works by goldsmiths and liturgical vestments, such as the pectoral cross of San Melchor de Quirós and the cape and white silk embroidered dress donated to the Virgin of Covadonga by Queen Isabel II.

icono
Museum of Covadonga
GPS:43.308567,-5.054506